Striving To Advance Recreational Services

Last updated: 2017-12-19

Date Place Time
Sunday, January 7, 14, 21 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Sunday, January 28 Regis College 3:30-4:45
** Parent meeting
Sunday, February 4 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Sunday, February 11 Regis College 3:30-4:45
** Suit fitting
Sunday, February 18 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Sunday, February 25 Regis College 3:30-4:45
** Regis Swim Team
Sunday, March 4 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Saturday, March 10 Windham High School
Willimantic, CT
Event Page
8:30am - 3:30
Sunday, March 11, 18, 25 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Sunday, April 1 NO PRACTICE
Sunday, April 8 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Sunday, April 15 NO PRACTICE
Sunday, April 22, 29 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Saturday, May 5 Boston University
Mass Swim Qualifier
Sunday, May 6, 13, 20 Regis College 3:30-4:45
Sunday,June 3 Regis College 3:30-4:45
June 9-10 Harvard University
Massachusetts Special Olympics State Games
Wellesley S.T.A.R.S., Inc. offers comprehensive swim training and a competitive swim program for children and adults with special needs from Wellesley and surrounding towns, from January to June each year. For the last fifteen years, some STARS swimmers have competed in Special Olympics regional, state wide, national and international meets while others attend for exercise and social purposes.


Swim practice is held weekly on Sundays in January to June from 3:30 to 5:00 PM at Regis College. The team is led by Head Coach, Karen Bernardo, a teacher and experienced Special Olympics swim coach with 18 years experience, seven assistant coaches with six or more years experience in coaching individuals with special needs and trained high school volunteers from the Wellesley area.


Our athletes develop confidence as a result of building new swim skills. Their enhanced self esteem often benefits their family, school or work experiences. Informal networking by the parents helps families to maintain up to date knowledge of other recreational and educational opportunities for their athletes with special needs.


While children need to be eight years old prior to competing in Special Olympics meets, they can begin swim training at early as age 6.


Contact Karen Bernardo, Head Coach at for further information or to arrange for a visit to a Wellesley S.T.A.R.S. swim practice.